# WAVERLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL

## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE JOINT PLANNING COMMITTEE 26 MAY 2010

## SUBMITTED TO THE COUNCIL MEETING - 20 JULY 2010

(To be read in conjunction with the Agenda for the Meeting)

Cllr Mrs J I Arrick Cllr M H W Band

- \* Cllr L C Bate
- \* Cllr M W Byham
- \* Cllr Mrs E Cable
- \* Cllr Mrs C Cockburn Cllr S P Connolly
- \* Cllr J H B Edwards Cllr B A Ellis Cllr Mrs P Ellis
- \* Cllr Mrs M E Foryszewski
- \* Cllr Mrs P M Frost \* Cllr Mr R Frost
- Cllr R J Gates
- \* Cllr M R Goodridge
- \* Cllr Mrs J P Hargreaves
- \* Cllr S L Hill
- \* Cllr N P Holder
- Cllr J P Hubble
  Cllr S R E Inchbald
  Cllr D C Inman
  Cllr P B Isherwood
- \* Cllr Mrs D M James
- \* Cllr Mrs C A King

Cllr R A Knowles

- \* Cllr Ms D Le Gal
- \* Cllr Dr N Lee
- \* Cllr A Lovell
- \* Cllr P J Martin
- \* Cllr T E Martin
- \* Cllr B J Morgan Cllr S N Mulliner
- Cllr S J O'Grady Cllr S L Pritchard Cllr K T Reed Cllr S Renshaw Cllr S N Reynolds
- \* Cllr Mrs C E Savage
- \* Cllr J M Savage
- \* Cllr R J Steel
- \* Cllr A E B Taylor-Smith Cllr Ms J R Thomson Cllr A P Thorp
- \* Cllr J A Ward
- \* Cllr Mrs N Warner-O'Neill Cllr R A Welland
- \* Cllr Mrs L Wheatley
- \* Cllr A Wilson

#### \*Present

- 6. Councillor John Ward chaired the meeting in the absence of the Joint Planning Committee Chairman Councillor Peter Isherwood. With the agreement of the Committee, Councillor Bryn Morgan acted as Vice Chairman.
- 7. <u>MINUTES</u>

The Minutes of the Meeting held on 10 March 2010 and the 11 May 2010 were confirmed and signed.

## 8. <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs Jean Arrick, Mike Band, Stuart Connolly, Brian Ellis, Mrs Patricia Ellis, Richard Gates, Simon Inchbald, Peter Isherwood, David Inman, Robert Knowles, Steve Renshaw, Stefan Reynolds, Jane Thomson, Andrew Thorp and Ross Welland.

## 9. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations were made to the Committee:

Councillors Mrs Patricia Frost Mrs Denise Le Gal were members of Farnham Town Council and were also Surrey County Councillors.

Councillors Mrs Carole Cockburn, Bob Frost, Mrs Jill Hargreaves, Stephen Hill, Alan Lovell and Stephen O'Grady were members of Farnham Town Council.

Cllr Roger Steel was a Farnham Town Councillor and spoke as an advocate for his ward and refrained from voting at this meeting.

Cllr Taylor-Smith was the Portfolio Holder for Planning and left the meeting after making his declaration of interest.

Cllr John Ward was the Mayor of Farnham

## PART I – RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE COUNCIL

There were no matters raised under this heading.

## PARTS II AND III- MATTERS OF REPORT

## Background Papers

The background papers relating to the following items in Parts II and III are as specified in the Agenda for the meeting of the Joint Planning Committee.

## PART II – Matters reported in detail for the information of the Council

There were no matters raised under this heading.

#### PART III – Brief summaries of other matters dealt with

## 10. WA/2010/0372 VARIATION OF CONDITION 37 OF PLANNING PERMISSION WA/2008/0279 AT LAND AT EAST STREET, FARNHAM

The Committee considered the report and the comments from the planning officer. A number of updates were presented as part of the officers' report, that included updated information regarding air pollution monitoring which resulted in the Environmental Health Officer and the Highway Authority considering the proposal was acceptable subject to conditions; sixteen additional letters of objection; confirmation that there was no requirement for the application to be referred to GOSE; no objection from Surrey County Council's Rights of Way Officer. A revised recommendation to grant permission was placed before the committee.

In accordance with the public participation for this meeting each party had been allocated up to 15 minutes to speak and the following representations were made in respect of the application and were duly considered:

Objectors:	Mr Jerry Hyman Mr Gary Meyjes, Farnham Chamber of Commerce Mr Stephen Cochrane, The Farnham Society
Farnham Town Council:	Mr Roland Potter (Town Clerk) Cllr. Janet Maines
Applicants/Supporters:	Mr Greg Vincent, Crest Nicholson
Waverley Borough Council: Cllr. Roger Steel Cllr. Victor Duckett Cllr. Mike Causey	

RESOLVED that permission be **REFUSED** for the following reason:

1. The Council is of the opinion that Condition 37 of WA/2008/0279 should not be varied as the consequences of not complying with criterion (a) of the condition would be likely to cause material harm by way of loss of air quality, excessive traffic congestion and related inconvenience to highway users, visitors and businesses and material loss of amenity to local residents contrary to Policy NRM9 of the South East Plan 2009 and Policies D1, TC12, TC13 and M2 of the Waverley Borough Local Plan 2002.

The meeting commenced at 7.00 p.m. and concluded at 9.40 p.m.

Chairman

G:\bureau\comms\Joint Planning Management Committee\2010-2011\26-05-2010\001A Minutes.doc